Electric Litany is a London-based four piece whose music incorporates sounds of post rock, synthpop, neoclassical, electronica and experimental soundscapes.

The band have released three albums: “How To Be A Child and Win The War” (2010), “Enduring Days You Will Overcome” (2014) and “Under A Common Sky” (2019) as well as the “Love” EP (2016). They will be releasing their upcoming EP “Music For Sleep” later this year (2021).

Founding members Alexandros Miaris and Richard Simic formed the band in 2007. In their formative years Electric Litany lived and rehearsed in abandoned buildings across East London including Leyton Town Hall and The Fallen Angel in Walthamstow. In 2008 they recorded their debut single and video ‘Tear’ at The Fallen Angel. The track includes a transcript from Greek poet and activist Ghiannis Ritsos.

In November 2008 Electric Litany supported I Like Trains at Gagarin 205 in Athens, Greece and secured a record deal with Inner Ear Records (GR).

In 2009 they recorded their debut album “How To Be A Child and Win The War” (Inner Ear, 2010) in a church in Neasden North London with producer George Botis.

In 2011 the band performed extensively including supporting Interpol on their European tour and numerous European festival appearances.

In 2012/2013 the band recorded their second album “Enduring Days You Will Overcome” with music legend Alan Parsons as co-producer. Parsons decided to get involved after being impressed by the previous recordings, and is quoted as saying “[Electric Litany] are the next Radiohead.” The partnership was achieved through Source-Connect digital audio software which allowed the band to record remotely. Response to the album was hugely positive and gained the band international recognition. In support of the album, Electric Litany supported the Alan Parsons Project on their tour of Germany and Austria in 2013.

In July 2015 Electric Litany were asked to perform in Sytagma square in Athens, Greece as part of the protest against austerity. The event was broadcast worldwide as well as witnessed by the audience of tens of thousands. The next day they performed on the main stage at Rockwave festival alongside The Prodigy and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club.

In 2019 Electric Litany started their own label Azure Records and licensed their third album “Under A Common Sky” to Apollon (EU) and Inner Ear (GR) Records. The nine track LP features tracks ‘Sealight’ and ‘Refugee’, both receiving numerous awards for their music videos.

In 2020 a collection of previously unheard material was released as part of bootleg album “The Amniotic Tranquillity of Being Indoors During a Thunderstorm”. Profits went to support charities dealing with the global pandemic.

In May 2021 Electric Litany re-entered the studio to begin work on their new EP “Music for Sleep.”

Current Members
Alexandros Miaris (Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Synths)
Richard Simic (Drums, Pads, Samples)
Jason Tsontilis (Synths, percussion)
George Botis (Producer)

Past Members
Duane Petrovich (Bass)
Benjamin Prince (Synths, Vocoder)
Alex Delighinanidis (Bass)
Thodoris Ziarkas (Synths, Vocals)
Pavlos Mavromatakis (Bass, Vocals)
Sahar (Bass)
Manual Mera (Bass)
Aris Karakasis (Synths)